Bryant-Jordan Award Winners

Chase Childers

BIRMINGHAM -- Chase Childers of Piedmont High School and Leon Fluker of Foley High School were the overall winners at the 25th annual Bryant-Jordan Student Athlete Awards Banquet Monday night in Birmingham as 96 regional honorees were recognized and awarded approximately $750,000 in scholarship money.

Chase Childers was named the state's overall Scholar-Athlete Award winner while leon Fluker was the state's overall Achievement Award winner.

The program recognized 48 regional scholar-athlete winners, selected for their excellence in athletics and academics, and 48 achievement winners, chosen for the student-athlete's ability to overcome major obstacles during their high school careers.

The student athlete program is named in honor of the late coaches Paul "Bear" Bryant of Alabama and Ralph "Shug" Jordan of Auburn. The overall scholar athlete award is named for Larry D. Striplin Jr., who founded the scholarship program that annually recognizes the state's outstanding senior student athletes.

The awards to the overall winner and the six class winners in each award category were presented at the banquet sponsored by the Bryant-Jordan Foundation in conjunction with the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame and the Alabama High School Athletic Association. All of the scholarships awarded may be used at the school of each recipient's choice.

In both award categories, each of eight region winners per class received a $2,500 scholarship. The overall winner in each class received an additional $3,000 scholarship.

From that select group in each category came the overall winner, who received an additional $3,000 scholarship.

In addition to the individual awards, the school of each class winner will receive $2,000.

The Larry D. Striplin, Jr. Scholar-Athlete Award

Childers, who also captured the Class 3A Scholar-Athlete Award, is ranked first in his senior class of 72 with a perfect 4.0 grade-point average. He was also a four-sport standout at Piedmont playing football, baseball, basketball and track.

The quarterback led the Lions (13-2) to the 3A state football championship earning MVP honors in the Super 6 finals, a 35-28 overtime win over Cordova. Named All-Calhoun County as a catcher, he served as captain of the football and baseball teams.

He has the highest academic average for his school in Advanced American History, English and Math and is a member of the National Honor Society and Beta Club, received the U.S. Achievement Academy Award in 2009 and President's Education Award in 2009.

Individual scholar-athlete class winners:
Class 1A: Peyton Moss, South Lamar (Millport)
Class 2A: Palee Myrex, Cold Springs
Class 3A: Chase Childers, Piedmont
Class 4A: Garrett Taylor, St. Clair County (Odenville)
Class 5A: Matthew Prevost, Walker (Jasper)
Class 6A: Rudolph Davis, Minor (Graysville)

Betty Joy and Ken Blankenship Achievement Award

Awards for achievement were presented for the 25th year to student athletes who by sheer determination have overcome obstacles to achieve a level of success in a sport.

Fluker, the Class 6A achievement winner and the Betty Joy and Ken Blankenship Achievement Award overall winner, was a standout lineman for Foley High School's football team. He and mother, two brothers and two sisters were displaced from their home in New Orleans losing almost all their personal belongings during Hurricane Katrina.

They started over in Alabama despite the difficult financial and emotional hardship and faced even more difficulty when the FEMA home they lived in burned. Leon's positive attitude won the admiration and respect of his teammates, fellow students, teachers, coaches and administrators as he continued to work hard as a student maintaining a 3.78 GPA while also becoming an outstanding football leader.

Individual student achievement class winners:
Class 1A: Stephen Ryan Tyree, Berry (Fayette)
Class 2A: Jerdarius J.D. Williams, Clay County (Ashland)
Class 3A: Dylan Pope, Brindley Mountain
Class 4A: Heath Levon McCray, Ashford
Class 5A: Richard Dylan Parrish, Boaz
Class 6A: Leon Fluker. Foley

Special Awards

Several other special scholarships were presented to some of the regional winners.

Nicholas Laskay, UMS-Wright, the Susan and Dr. Gaylon McCullough Medical Scholarship at the University of Alabama

Corey Meyer, Vinemont, the Herman L. "Bubba" Scott Coaching Scholarship

Rudolph Davis, Minor, and Haley Hart, Northview, the Auburn Football Letterman Club Scholarships.

Daniel Paul Moore, Northside, and Taylor Hannah Veazey, Holtville, the Alabama "A" Club Educational & Charitable Foundation Scholarships. Recommended Stories